Focus on the Story

It is the bottom of the ninth in a 5-2 ballgame. With two outs in the inning, the hitter reaches first base and immediately steals second. The defense reacts to try and squelch the threat. Why? With two outs in the ninth inning and up by three ruins why worry about an insignificant run?

The mainstream media is now obsessed with Edward Snowden, the self-proclaimed whistle-blower of the National Security Agency’s (NSA) program to track the telephone records of millions of Americans. Why? The stories on his personal life only detract from the real story. The government is spying on its citizens

I am in favor of the government tracking anyone it believes to be a terrorist. However, I cannot justify the government spying on the more than 100 million Verizon customers unless they are plotting attacks in their garages.

Recent polls indicate the majority of Americans – roughly 56 percent – say it is an acceptable way for the government to investigate terrorism. I bet the answer is different if the poll question was “Is it acceptable for the government to spy on Americans?

It’s an intricate balance between privacy and national security. I find it odd that people find the government intruding on private calls acceptable but use the right to privacy to protect demand a female minor from telling her parents she had an abortion or took abortion pills.

I prefer consistency with my issues. It is like a home plate that has an erratic strike zone. I do not mind having a low, high or wide strike zone providing the umpire is consistent. I realize politicians form opinions based on the partisan prism. I just wish our politicians were more concerned with the nation, their character, and representing their constituents than getting re-elected.

About Armando Diana

A freelance writer for more than 25 years I covered the political scene in New Jersey which can prepare anyone for national politics. I have no fancy political degrees and I'm definitely not a lawyer - I am a common person who is fed up with politics. I want leaders focused on doing what is right for the country, not for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

