No sense in airline travel

I drove three hours from Houston to San Antonio to hop a one-hour flight from San Antonio to Houston. Seems illogical right? Apparently, that inconvenience afforded me is logical to United Airlines.

On a recent trip to Texas I flew from Philadelphia to Houston and then on to San Antonio. The return trip was a reverse course. However, my plans changed necessitating a three hour drive to Houston two days prior to my return flight.

I called United Airlines and asked if I could simply go to the Houston airport and pick up the second leg of my return flight. I was told that maneuver would void the entire trip requiring a change fee of $200 per ticket.

Other than throwing common sense out the window and creating a customer experience that rivals sticking needles in my eyes, the airline lost revenue. On the surface, the airline had a seat it could have re-sold. I was not looking for a refund, just convenience. That’s double income on one seat. Under the surface, I will travel other airlines and try to convince as many people as possible to do the same. That’s lost opportunity income the airline gets to enjoy.

The mind-boggling episode reminded me the lack of common sense is not relegated to politics.

About Armando Diana

A freelance writer for more than 25 years I covered the political scene in New Jersey which can prepare anyone for national politics. I have no fancy political degrees and I'm definitely not a lawyer - I am a common person who is fed up with politics. I want leaders focused on doing what is right for the country, not for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No sense in airline travel

  1. Frank Diana says:

    You are not alone. See this now famous video regarding United Airlines. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5YGc4zOqozo

Leave a Reply

