The Myths and Legends in Their Own Minds need to Get Over Themselves

The ball flutters in the air with the grace of a moth that just passed gas and lands silently into the awaiting catcher’s mitt. There is momentary silence in the crowd as parents eagerly await the umpire’s call.

“Ball” says the man in blue with the conviction of a meek teenager asked his favorite color.

The hitter is relieved and his manager sheepishly smiles knowing he got away with one. The pitcher is perplexed, the catcher confused, and their manager makes a snide comment about the umpire’s need for eye surgery.

This is typical scenario at a youth baseball game but what happens next is the point of this blog. In between innings, I sauntered over to the umpire to inquire about his strike zone. He proceeds to tell me that four pitches were indeed strikes but that he was not going to call them a strike because the pitcher threw a knuckleball to the eighth place hitter and that was not fair.

I cannot reveal the subsequent conversation because this is a family blog but suffice to write it involved his genealogy and a physical impossibility involving himself. It ended with me telling him “I have an idea I coach my players and you fairly ump the game.”

The scary part is in his mind he was umping the game fairly because he felt obligated to singlehandedly even the playing field. I guess this is the fallout of Liberalism gone mad. I can hear the cries now from Liberals screaming my pitcher had an unfair advantage because the coach taught him how to throw a knuckleball but the other did not teach his hitter how to hit a knuckleball.

I also guess that is the next step in the war on winners and losers. The Liberals stopped youth sporting events from having declared winners, but are slowly realizing the players knew the score. So I guess they want to regulate what pitchers can throw so everyone has a fair chance.

We cannot celebrate a win too loudly because it makes the other team feel bad. By that, I do I do not mean taunting the other team. Does anyone doubt someone in politics is thinking about outlawing high fiving a win?

The above scenario with an umpire actually did occur but the rest is an exaggeration to make a point. Why is it not OK to regulate what pitcher’s in a youth baseball game can throw but OK for the government to dictate various aspects of our lives?

There are certain absolutes. Pre-meditated murder, robbery, rape, and assault are a few examples. What light bulb I want to use, whether I use a bicycle helmet when I ride, or whether I use a seatbelt is a choice. Politicians need to know this distinction and proceed accordingly.

If they do not we need to proceed accordingly and move them out.

About Armando Diana

A freelance writer for more than 25 years I covered the political scene in New Jersey which can prepare anyone for national politics. I have no fancy political degrees and I'm definitely not a lawyer - I am a common person who is fed up with politics. I want leaders focused on doing what is right for the country, not for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

