Social is An Oxymoron in Social Media

The sound cut through the wasteland of deserted space like a knife slices through butter.  The noise shocked me – not so much because the silence was shattered but more because I did not expect to hear it.

My neighbor walked over to speak to me. She did not text me. She did not update her Facebook status to alert me that she was coming.  She didn’t even take to the Twitter airwaves to inform the masses of her intention to use her vocal chords.

Oddly enough the earth is still rotating on its axis and the end of civilization has not started.  I love Social Media because it is effective, informative and efficient.  I hate Social Media because it is teaching a generation of thumb abusers how not to communicate.

I’m a guy who loves the silence.  I like being lost in my thoughts with limited personal intervention.  However, I know that approach is a highway to a misperception about my character and will make going through Life infinitely more difficult so I try to be social.

Being social and Social Media are two different things.  My wife will roll down her car window in a traffic jam and talk to the motorist next to her.  That’s social. I typically listen to music, do my e-mail off my phone or text with someone.  That’s Social Media.

The problem with Social Media is it’s not social.  We hide behind “Likes”, posting inane pictures of food, or posting non-descript one-liners about how our day is going.  We fool ourselves into believing that sharing arcane information no one cares about is being social.  It’s not.  Interacting with humans – or barnyard animals if that’s your taste – is being social.

By the way, what is up with posting pictures of food?  I think it’s the silliest thing and being a wise guy from New Jersey I have an idea.  I want to take a picture of a food I am about to eat and then take a picture of it once my body has processed it.  I then want to post the picture of the food next to the picture of fecal matter it turned into as a before and after shot.

But I digress.  Anyway, thanks to social media I can keep up with up my small circle of friends.  I know things about them that I did not know when we actually spoke to one another. However, I am lulled into a false sense of friendship and I no longer hear their triumphs, fears, or desires.  What kind of friend have I become?  A passive one that gets frequent updates of what they are doing on a daily – sometimes hourly – basis.

I know more about them but I no longer know them.

About Armando Diana

A freelance writer for more than 25 years I covered the political scene in New Jersey which can prepare anyone for national politics. I have no fancy political degrees and I'm definitely not a lawyer - I am a common person who is fed up with politics. I want leaders focused on doing what is right for the country, not for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

