The lost art of coaching is ruining high school sports

Perhaps the mist of time conceals the fact most high school coaches were always the backend of a horse.  Maybe I saw things differently as a high school athlete trying to earn the respect of my coach which made me overlook the bullying.

Watching how high school coaches treat their players as an adult, I see things differently and fear more damage is done by ignorance than malice.  I must have missed the memo that stated screaming like a lunatic at a teenager and coaching were interchangeable.  It seems coaches do more yelling and little coaching.

I smack my head when I hear a high school coach say “I am not here to teach you how to play this game.  I’m here to develop you for the next level.”  Um, I think someone should tell such a genius that in order to develop the players must be taught.

I’m not sure why coaches believe yelling is the antidote to the player making a mistake but it seems this stupidity is rampant among the masses.  Perhaps over the course of a frustrating lifetime, certain coaches simply need to feel superior so they mask their passive-aggressive hatred of their own lives as coaching style.

Isn’t it odd that we entrust our children to ill-equipped people masquerading as coaches during the time they are most vulnerable.  Teenage years are hard enough without some coach berating a child for making a mistake in a game that has no true bearing in life.  From my perspective the coach should be understanding of mistakes seeing his or her employer made one in the hiring process.

A coach teaches, shows, and encourages people to succeed at the task at hand.  Screamers are impatient egotists more concerned about what their peers are saying about them than their youth athletes.

I suspect the time will come when high school sports are replaced by travel teams.  You still have your knucklehead coaches on the travel circuit but most programs will not tolerate such antics if people do not register for their teams.  High school parents have no such recourse.

The parents are trapped in the delusion that junior will make the pros and the necessity to be a sycophant to the coach ensure playing time for the next A-Rod.  At a public high school parents have no recourse and are stuck with frustrated wannabes coming to grips with their gym teacher life.

I was at a 16U travel baseball game the other day and saw a team completely botch a bunt that allowed the runner to score from first base.  Rather than scream and yell at the kids, in between innings the coach gathered his players and calmly explained what each player should have done on the play.  He explained their roles and why they are supposed to execute their roles in the fashion he explained.

There was no yelling or screaming obscenities at the kids.  There was coaching.  Is that too much to ask from a high school coach?

About Armando Diana

A freelance writer for more than 25 years I covered the political scene in New Jersey which can prepare anyone for national politics. I have no fancy political degrees and I'm definitely not a lawyer - I am a common person who is fed up with politics. I want leaders focused on doing what is right for the country, not for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

