The issues of the day are nothing more than a litmus test; that’s no way to choose a leader

Someone needs to tell the today’s media they are not and will not ever be Woodward or Bernstein.  Those two were journalists and today’s media types are nothing more than self-aggrandizing empty suits that care more about the sizzle than the steak.

Wait.  Isn’t that how most of the media refer to Trump’s presidential candidacy?  I guess it takes one to know one.

I am still not sold on Trump as president but I do enjoy watching the media, Democrats and Republicans stumble over themselves as they try every trick in their arsenal to trip Trump. I think they will eventually succeed but Trump already won.  He changed the political landscape.  He changed the dialog.

In this crazy political arena cultivated by a society that lost touch with what truly matters, it only seems appropriate for a billionaire to be perceived as “one-of-the-people” while the establishment is forced to eat the cake he is serving.

Before Trump eventually tires of the idiocy and leaves, I wonder if he’s enjoying his last laugh in each aborted media attempt to derail his campaign.  You have the conspiracists saying he is only in the race to help Hillary Clinton get elected.  There are those who claim he is a showman and only interested in attention.  Then there are the ones who try to make him seem anti-women.

I do not have a problem with the questions the “journalists” at Fox News hurled at the candidates.  I can guarantee the other lightweight news channels like CNN, MSNBC, and network channel will ever be half as hard on their Democrat brethren.  So much for the theory that Fox is a Conservative shill.

I do not think using one public argument Trump had with a woman proves anything other than he defended himself against an initial attack.  Much like Fox News asked him to show evidence of the Mexican government sending rapists and murderers to the US where is Fox News’ evidence of other women he disparaged?  Isn’t it odd that most news outlets turned a blind eye to the multitude of women that came out against Bill Cosby yet use one case to condemn Trump?  That tells me there was another agenda at play.

Some say he doesn’t look presidential.  Compared to what?  President Obama? I get the fact some of us like to have a leader who is calm, cool and collected but is that what this nation needs?  It’s like choosing between Billy Martin and Art Howe as your baseball team’s manager.  In some cases you needed the fire of Martin and in others you needed the stoicism of Howe.  I do not pretend to know what the nation’s need but I know what I want to see in our next president.

I want someone who believes in the brilliance of our nation and not an apologist.  We are a great nation for a reason and if other nations hates us for it, oh well.  I want a president who does not allow other nations to take advantage of us, mock us, or disrespect us. I do not want those things borne of fear but earned by action.

I do not want a president eager to appease or please but one willing to lead by example and stick to core principles without wanting to pander for votes.  I do not want a president who dismisses our allies and leaves them behind.

I want a president with a vision to advance this nation by the principles it was founded on – rugged individualism not a nation of handouts. We need a president that understands the value of fiscal solvency and an unending desire to defend the nation from all threats – foreign or domestic.  But most of all I want a president who believes in the Constitution.  Anyone not fitting these base requirements need not apply.

Notice I did not outline a single “issue.” We do not need candidates talking about where they stand on issues.  The issues of the day are nothing more than a litmus test.  As you know from chemistry, a litmus test only shows whether a substance is acidic or basic, not where it falls on the pH scale. That is no way to select a leader.

About Armando Diana

A freelance writer for more than 25 years I covered the political scene in New Jersey which can prepare anyone for national politics. I have no fancy political degrees and I'm definitely not a lawyer - I am a common person who is fed up with politics. I want leaders focused on doing what is right for the country, not for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

