Where would we be if the Founding Fathers chose diplomacy over revolution?

How would you react if you were told you did not have the “right” credentials to join a club?  A team? Any organization for that matter?

I’m sure the screams and howls would be heard across the nation if you were a minority or illegal alien but what if you were a white, middle-aged male? No one would care and, unfortunately, that is acceptable in our society.

Now, what would you do if you were running for president but told “Sorry, you do not fit our mold so you can’t run?”

According to the University of Virginia’s Center for Politics, Larry J. Sabato‘s Crystal Ball gives Donald Trump no chance of earning the republican presidential nomination in the latest feature article called Republicans 2016: What to Do With the Donald?

I agree with his findings but I despise the reasons he gives for Trump coming up short.  I am not a Liberal so I do not blame Sabato for the message.  I blame the establishment for skewing the playing field that would make the Hunger Games proud.

The first reason Sabato gives is the eventual nominee needs to have the backing of party elites.  He defines party elites as “… those in public office (many of whom will have to run on the same election ticket), the people in party leadership positions, large donors, and the heads of factional, well-funded organizations outside the party structure but still under the broader partisan umbrella.”

Hmm. I thought my vote counted.  I guess it only counts if the powers that be say it does.

His second reason is the likely nominee needs to have strong organizations in every state to do the grunt work to get the vote out.  Trump is a celebrity and celebrities cannot comprehend actual work.  They get “their people” to do it for them.  This is basic block and tackle stuff and I have to imagine that a successful businessman knows who to hire to get the job done.

His third point is the most disturbing to me.  He states in order to be electable the nominee must speak in political correct tones.  The premise is plain speaking people are fun at first but let’s not trust them with the keys to the castle.  Remember, I do not disagree with Sabato.  I find it sad that it’s true.

I wonder where we would be if our Founding Fathers chose diplomacy over revolution?

Finally, he says most voters become more circumspect with their vote as Election Day nears.  If that were true, how did we end up with President Obama?  Twice?  I think the educated voter acts in the way Sabato suggests but the uninformed voter basically votes for the one they like the best or the one who is going to give them more free stuff.  In any case, Trump also loses on this front.

The article is an excellent analysis of the political scene and I encourage you to read it.

The fact that only “the chosen” ones can run for president seems totally un-American to me and I hope Trump turns the establishment on its ear.  I’d like to think his growing popularity is because most Americans are fed up with the establishment and want change.  Helpful change not the Obama type change. I’d like to think that but chances are the mindless drones we call voters will choose who the “elites” want us to choose.

Is that the America you want?

About Armando Diana

A freelance writer for more than 25 years I covered the political scene in New Jersey which can prepare anyone for national politics. I have no fancy political degrees and I'm definitely not a lawyer - I am a common person who is fed up with politics. I want leaders focused on doing what is right for the country, not for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where would we be if the Founding Fathers chose diplomacy over revolution?

  1. Kayla H. says:

    I have enjoyed your posts, especially about Trump. I agree, I like the shake up he is causing. Finally we have someone on center stage saying things the “We the People” have been wanting to be said. I also agree that he is not the answer. I wish another worthy candidate would be inspired by Trump’s “tell it like it is” way and do the same. There are only a handful of candidates that I think would be good at the job. I think there’s a group (Carson, Cruz, Fiorina, and Walker) that would be great leaders and what we need. Of course there’s a lot of time left to weed out the pro’s and con’s of each. I just pray that the Lord brings us the right person for the job, and to complete His will. Thanks for sharing a conservative and honest view. It’s good to know there are others out there who think like you do.

  2. Thank you for the kind words and I’m glad I have a kindred spirit. Uncommon Sense is open to guest bloggers so feel free to submit any blogs you want. I’m intrigued to hear your views on Walker, Cruz, Carson and Fiorina.

Leave a Reply

