Going for a populist may not be the popular choice to make

Uh-Oh, I think some in the media don’t like a taste of their own medicine.

I like how Donald Trump is upsetting the apple cart and giving people in the media a dose of one-upmanship. For too long, they have conducted themselves as hallowed bodies surrounded in Teflon much like the political ruling class has enjoyed. It’s good to see them get a little comeuppance.

I don’t particularly care for his abrasive style but I suppose you cannot have one without the other. The most recent episode of Trump calling out Fox News reporter Megyn Kelly is a good example of the dichotomy Trump brings to the dialog.

During a news broadcast hosted by Kelly, Trump Tweeted “I liked The Kelly File much better without @megynkelly. Perhaps she could take another eleven day unscheduled vacation!”  Followed by “Megyn needs to go back on vacation. What a waste of an hour on Fox.”

I question Trump’s motives for his latest salvo against her but I also questioned Kelly’s motives during the first presidential debate. In both cases I think the motive was more personal than professional. If that is the case, good for Trump for giving the media a taste of its own medicine. I want news reporters to ask the hard questions providing the desire is to uncover the truth on a topic of substance, not scoring points on the political correctness meter.

And that is what I like most about Trump. He is blazing the trail that screams it’s OK to be politically incorrect. Of course, having nine billion dollars in your bank account helps ease the pain of the backlash of being politically incorrect but he seems to be appealing to what can be described as the disenfranchised middle class.

This is the group hardest hit by President Obama’s policies. This is the group that does not qualify for government assistance because “they make too much” but pays the most in taxes. They do not earn enough to actually be rich but are considered rich by government standards.

Although I enjoy watching him make the elitists squirm, how does any of the rhetoric help us learn if Trump will make a good president?

His Tweets about Kelly’s journalistic abilities are his opinions. I’m sure she gets more venom from other non-fans. However, the re-tweet Trump made referring to her as a “bimbo” tells me more about his character and judgment then any of his shifting positions.

Some people like that in-your-face behavior while others believe he is a bully and refer to his behavior as “non-presidential.”  Given the fact President Bill Clinton put a stain on the White House during his presidency and the current resident is thoroughly inept, what does “non-presidential” mean? There are those who say the same about President George W. Bush and President George H. Bush.

So saying “non-presidential” is a non-starter for me. I like a president who will stand up for America, has convictions, and is unafraid to state and stick by his principles. You can make the case, Trump is all those things but I am not convinced he is the right choice for president. Perhaps I’m being more personal than practical or vice versa.

I’m not sure yet. What I am sure of is Trump is making a strong case for why he should be president while at the same time making a strong case for why he should not be president. We need to be smart about our next choice for President. President Obama and his failed policies has proven making a populist choice is not a popular move.

About Armando Diana

A freelance writer for more than 25 years I covered the political scene in New Jersey which can prepare anyone for national politics. I have no fancy political degrees and I'm definitely not a lawyer - I am a common person who is fed up with politics. I want leaders focused on doing what is right for the country, not for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

