Looting is a criminal act, not a protest

If I went into DeRay McKesson’s home and took his stuff do you think he’d accept my claim that I am protesting and making a non-political response to indefinitely borrowing his belongings?   He should because he is selling similar BS to students at Yale by teaching a course on the merits of looting as a form of protest.

You read that right.  McKesson is “The Black Lives Matter” leader who capitalized on the riots in Ferguson, Missouri and Baltimore, Maryland.  Three things strike me as odd about this scenario other than the obvious fact that looting is criminal behavior.

The first is McKesson can get a teaching job with limited qualifications.  He rails against white people gaining benefits because of skin color yet has no issue reaping the benefits of his stature.  He certainly did not earn such a job.

Which brings me to my second point. Why on earth would Yale hire him and allow such trash as courseware?  Although, given Yale’s reputation as the bastion of Liberalism, I cannot say I’m surprised.

The third is that students would actually waste their money on a one credit course to be indoctrinated into lawlessness.  College is expensive and debt piles up quickly.  Yale permitting such hubris reveals how little it cares about students’ financial debt.

McKesson can rationalize all he wants and play the race card and cloud the issue.  It does not change the fact that taking something from someone forcibly is wrong.  There is no debate.  There is no leeway. It is wrong.

I have an idea.  Maybe McKesson can teach a course on taking personal responsibility for one’s actions.  How about a course on holding oneself accountable?  That is what should be taught to young people but McKesson is the wrong guy for those courses.

I do not know the man.  I only know what I read about him and from him.  All indications are he blames others and does not take ownership of his words or actions. The fact he espouses that looting is a protest and not a criminal act tells me all I need to know about the man.

If we applied his logic to other scenarios we can then reasonably assert that white flight is a protest and a non-political response towards homogeneity. Being against illegal immigration is a protest for individuals having to comply with laws.  Killing another person is a protest against the living.

As silly as my protest ideas sound is as silly as McKesson’s assertion about looting.  Yale should be ashamed of itself for perpetuating lawless behavior.  I’d suggest McKesson be ashamed of himself but it’s pretty obvious the man knows no shame.

About Armando Diana

A freelance writer for more than 25 years I covered the political scene in New Jersey which can prepare anyone for national politics. I have no fancy political degrees and I'm definitely not a lawyer - I am a common person who is fed up with politics. I want leaders focused on doing what is right for the country, not for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

