The fault is not in our stars, but in ourselves

He was running along the rooftops trying to avoid the bullets.  He serpentine and wove his way through the combat zone that used to resemble a street.  He showed some mad ninja skills but was unable to outrun all the bullets and fell to the ground dying.

Undeterred he pushed reset and began another game as his avatar alter ego. A false reality is born.  Life does not have a reset button.  Is it any wonder the millennials cannot cope when Life happens?

I can only imagine what Marcus Luttrell feels about the next generation that wants respect without the quaint notion of earning it.  We have seen the inability of millennials to spit out the pacifier up close on college campuses the past few months.

They are offended at what they think they should be offended by rather than actually having core beliefs to be offended.  They have their demonstrations but if they had core values they would leave the school if they were that offended.  Those who do have core beliefs understand the sacrifice of trying to maintain them in a world devoid of substance and make stands on principles, not social media.

Utopia does not exist on this side of eternity. We need to recognize that fact and stop trying to create a utopian society.  It starts by not lying to our children about false realities.  If you want fair, look in the dictionary because that is the only place you will find it.

Life is unfair.  I am a great singer….in my fantasy. But when reality hits the fan those sitting next to me in church on Sunday are none too happy.  I have four choices.  I can look to the government to create a program that gives me access to wave files of great singers so I can dub their voice.  I can continually lie to myself and wonder why I am sitting alone at mass.  I can accept the fact I’m a lousy singer and focus on some of my strengths. Or I can take action and either self-teach myself to be a better singer or take lessons.

It seems to me millennials take the first two options and people in the older generations will gravitate towards option three or four.  Of course, there are exceptions to every rule but the conventional wisdom is millennials are too soft to handle the reality of life.

If that is true, our country is headed for a fall.  A generation of whiners become followers.  And followers take the path of least resistance so the ruling class that promises the most goodies will win.

Somewhere down the line someone has to pay for the goodies and when we have more people with their hand out then people actually providing the money….well, you know what happens next.

I believe Shakespeare said it best in Julius Caesar (I, ii, 140-141) when Cassius says” “The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars, but in ourselves, that we are underlings.”  In that scene, Cassius, a nobleman, is speaking with his friend, Brutus, and trying to convince him that Julius Caesar must be stopped in the best interests of the public.  Caesar wants to be the monarch of Rome and Cassius reminds Brutus that Caesar is not a god, but a man like everyone else.

Cassius says they were all born equally and no one should have to bow down to another man. You know how that story ends.  I am not suggesting that we should kill the ruling class.  No, I am suggesting that we need to remove them and vote in people who will come up with solutions and not look elsewhere for solutions

About Armando Diana

A freelance writer for more than 25 years I covered the political scene in New Jersey which can prepare anyone for national politics. I have no fancy political degrees and I'm definitely not a lawyer - I am a common person who is fed up with politics. I want leaders focused on doing what is right for the country, not for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

