The goose and the gander are the same in Washington

What is good for the goose may not always be good for the gander especially when you are both the goose and the gander.

The stakes have dramatically increased in the presidential election and politics overall with the death of Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia.  Currently, the Republicans are asking President Obama to forgo nominating a successor to Scalia and defer to the next president.  I recall the Republicans being up in arms when Senator Chuck Schumer made the same request of then President George W. Bush when he had a similar situation at the end of his presidency

The only difference is he faced that situation with 19 months remaining in his tenure not less than a year.  I find Senator Schumer’s current outrage ridiculous and laughable.  But, then again, those terms plus the word embarrassment are regularly used in the same sentence with Senator Schumer.

The Republicans are threatening to block any nominee made by President Obama.  This is simply silly.  I do get a kick at watching the Democrats call foul over Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell’s threat to not even consider a nominee much like I enjoyed watching the Republicans’ histrionics more than a decade ago.

I think President Obama has the right to make a nomination just like I thought President Bush had the same right.  Imagine that.  I have consistency in my views.  I think the Republican stance is silly because rather than grand stand simply vote no if the nominee is an ideologue instead of a jurist.  Why create an issue where it’s not needed?

If a Republican President were in office the tables would be reversed. Such is politics. Although I agree President Obama has the right to nominate whomever he wants I think his choice will be bad for America if he stays true to his Liberal ways. I am hoping the Senators have the political will to vote down any nominee they believe to be too radical.

I do not care either way the Republicans want to play this as long as a Liberal judge does not end up on the court.  I do not even want an ultra-conservative judge to be on the Supreme Court.  I want a judge who will listen to the arguments and make a decision based on the intent of the Constitution.

I do not want an activist judge trying to impose his or her agenda on the America people in either ideological viewpoint.  I want an impartial person.

My point is the Senators need only do their jobs and the rest will take care of itself.  This is a great lesson for the electorate.  This is why it’s exceedingly important who we put in the White House, the Senate and Congress.  Forget the games, the grandstanding and one-up-manship.  Just do what we elected you to do.

However, to watch the melodramas on both sides reminds me why we are so fed up with the politicians in Washington.  Whenever you have a Senator parsing his own words to fit his current rhetoric is simply embarrassing. Do these people actually think they are fooling anyone?

I am not a Donald Trump fan and definitely not a Senator Bernie Sanders fan but both men have captured the electorates’ attention because they seemingly speak direct and to the point.  Both men have the ability to convince us they actually believe what they are saying.

Some of us know better but the fact remains a large majority of the population is buying what they are selling. Is that because we are so tired of politics as usual or because we are that stupid?

About Armando Diana

A freelance writer for more than 25 years I covered the political scene in New Jersey which can prepare anyone for national politics. I have no fancy political degrees and I'm definitely not a lawyer - I am a common person who is fed up with politics. I want leaders focused on doing what is right for the country, not for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

