There is no debate – I need a shower

The only thing I am sure of after watching the presidential debate between Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton is that I need a shower.

Both candidates inspire more hatred than love and I think it’s fair to say the winner is hated less than the loser.  This is not the optimal way to choose a president.  But as voters we must vote the ballot we’re dealt.

The debate did nothing to change my existing opinion of both candidates.   Are the candidates a sign of the times or are the times a sign of the candidates?  Think about that as you work through your checklist item for choosing your existence the next four years.

The media deemed Clinton the winner but they would have done that if she slept the entire time.  It’s a given that you cannot trust the media.  The online polls all indicated Trump won but they are hardly scientific and anyone can vote in those things numerous times.

If you are a Trump supporter you think he won and if you are a Clinton supporter you think she won.  So, in short, we are no further along than before the debate. I think the biggest loser is the media as Lester Holt did nothing to dispel the notion the media is biased.

But what did I learn from watching the debacle – I mean debate.

Well for one thing Clinton was her typical cold, robotic self.  I wanted to start singing Mrs. Roboto.  Trump was shooting from his mouth most of the night but at least he showed passion.

Clinton continued parsing her words like when she said she “supports our democracy” but did not say she will support Trump if he won.  Always the gentleman (cough), Trump did not hesitate to say he will support her if she won.  Do you want a leader who spends more time dissecting her words to ensure a careful response or a guy who has a belief and acts on it regardless of how it appears?

That is not a trick question.  It’s a choice.  Some of us will prefer the former while others will choose the latter.

I thought Trump proved he is not the ogre the Clinton ad campaign portrays and she showed she can stand for two hours without fainting.  I thought she had a better grasp of the political answers to the issues and his lack of depth of the issues was evident.

But what bugs me the most is her low opinion of the electorate.  Forget the “basket of deplrables” comment.  She actually said “I think implicit bias is a problem for everyone, not just police.”  So she believes we are all racists. I wonder if she believes that about Liberals.  Can you imagine if Trump said we are all bigots?

However, I will not vote for her mainly because she believes the people need the government to survive versus the other way around.  I also believe Trump will better than anyone believes but that may not be saying much.  The bar is so low with these two it’s scary.

About Armando Diana

A freelance writer for more than 25 years I covered the political scene in New Jersey which can prepare anyone for national politics. I have no fancy political degrees and I'm definitely not a lawyer - I am a common person who is fed up with politics. I want leaders focused on doing what is right for the country, not for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There is no debate – I need a shower

  1. I thought the “implicit bias” answer was the smartest thing said by either candidate. The question was asked in the narrow context of police, and she expanded the context. If you grow up American, you do get some racist programming, which you have to confront and eradicate (or not) as you mature. That’s why the word is “implicit” (not fully expressed), instead of “universal”. We’re not all racists, but most of us carry the seeds.

    • I understand your point but do not agree with the premise the American culture is inherently or implicitly racist. Racists live among us for sure but I do not think the American DNA has the racist gene. I think it is a learned behavior and a dialog is needed. I do not think politicians or the media are the vehicle for that dialog. Thanks for your reply I appreciate your participation now and in the past.

Leave a Reply

