American voter 1; Political Establishment 0

Welcome back suburban America.  I do not believe the election results is an indictment of Republican versus Democrat or Donald Trump versus Hillary Clinton.  I think it’s a referendum on the average American versus the political elite.

The political elite despise and disdain us.  They do not understand our struggles, fears, hopes, and dreams.  They are awash in their false narratives about understanding us but have no clue.  A good example is Clinton not even bothering to show up at her campaign headquarters to thank her supporters.

Here stood people who believed in her cause, believed in her message, and believed in her.  They sacrificed a lot throughout the campaign and spent the entire day and night at her campaign headquarters.  And Clinton couldn’t even show up to say thanks?!

That is simple common courtesy but, once again, it shows just how far removed and out of touch the political ruling class is with the common person.

Now the real work begins for President-elect Trump.  Now his supporters and the anyone-but-Clinton crowd will learn if he is different than the idiots in Washington, DC or is he one of them.  Time will tell.

An ancillary benefit of is victory is the fact the mainstream media was so wrong.  Driven by liberal bias, elitism, and arrogance the media did not allow itself to cover the story.  It tried to create the story and now everyone knows what a wasteland the media has become.

I am a Marketing executive in real life.  We are paid to ensure a message resonates with the audience. In today’s competitive world, we look for any “fact” to help differentiate our product or company from competitors. This leads to the use of surveys to gather information – much like pollsters do for political candidates.

Never trust a marketing survey or a pollster.  I will survey my customer base to get a “pulse” of my product. That seems like a rather innocuous project but it’s all in how you phrase the question.

Throughout a litany of standard questions, I will add “Before selecting [my product] what other vendors did you review?” I will then list five to 10 of my competitors.  Let’s say 60 percent of the respondents said they looked at Product X before selecting my product.

The screaming headline of my advertisement will be “60 percent of customers chose [my product] after looking at Product X.  Am I lying?

Nope.  Technically, in the survey I cite, 60 percent of the respondents said they looked at Product X but chose my product.  Of course, I do not mention that I surveyed my customer base which, by default, chose my product at one point.  I absolve myself of any sins by adding in tiny, tiny print the information regarding the survey so anyone that has keen eyesight and a desire to follow up on details can do so at their leisure.

This is what media outlets do with polls.  The media creates polls to suit its bias and then sells the hyperbole.  The goal is either to suppress turnout for the candidate it dislikes or drive enthusiasm for the candidate in its favor.

The American voter did not fall for the trick this time.  Trump is right – this is a movement but it’s up to him to stay true to the movement and not himself.

I am not telling you anything you do not already know.  I may not be happy we have the lesser of two evils but I am thrilled the American public had its say.  But is anyone listening?

About Armando Diana

A freelance writer for more than 25 years I covered the political scene in New Jersey which can prepare anyone for national politics. I have no fancy political degrees and I'm definitely not a lawyer - I am a common person who is fed up with politics. I want leaders focused on doing what is right for the country, not for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to American voter 1; Political Establishment 0

  1. w1nt3l says:

    I honestly think more people are listening today than yesterday. Lamestream media got it wrong, they got caught. How long that stays in people’s memories is another question all together.

  2. Probably the most remarkable presidential victory ever, considering trump defeated both a republican and a democratic establishment. Not to mention the media.

    • It also exposed how the media and political elite are so far out of touch with the real people of the country. And they show no signs of learning. They are blaming everyone but themselves. Worse, they are demonizing 60 million voters.

Leave a Reply

