The past propels our future if we are willing to learn

 

Ever watch a Bob Newhart show episode?  Either one of his major hits, it doesn’t matter.  Bob played the only sane character in an insane world.  The nuts in his world made it seem like he was crazy and the audience laughed at the silliness.

I imagine half of Americans who voted this year believe they were in a Bob Newhart episode the past eight years.

The media is beside itself since election day with hysteria and overstatements beyond comprehension.  Meanwhile, the professional protesters are also out in force starting fires in Oakland, burning a giant papier mache Trump head in Los Angeles, and disrupting traffic in Chicago among other hi-jinks in other major cities in America.

And president Obama says nothing.  Wasn’t he the one who lectured Trump supporters a few weeks back about accepting the election results and not protesting?

The mainstream media is portraying everyone who voted for Trump as stupid, uniformed losers. At last count, that means 59 million idiots are on the lam from their villages.  It also means America is comprised of 59 million Xenophobes, homophobes, and misogynists.  And finally, if you listen to some in the African American community there are 59 million racists among us.

I half expect someone to walk into my office and say “Hi Bob.”  There is a lot of blame going around but I do not believe in the blame game.  Circumstances are usually a shared result from both sides.  I think there is a list of reasons Trump won that half the people will accept and the other half will call me a litany of names.

I think it starts with the current occupant of the White House.  It turns out “Hope and Change” was more hope than change.  After eight years half the nation was tired of a culture where illegality is condoned and law abiding citizens are considered oppressive.  Illegal immigration is a problem.  That does not mean I am anti-immigrant.  It means I am against people coming into our country illegally.

I believe half the country got tired of having their desire for traditional values be considered more evil than Darth Vader by the media and political elite.  The media spent more time campaigning for the right of a man to use the woman’s bathroom than ensuring the safety of the girl in that same bathroom.

Maybe people got tired of a country where small business owners not wanting to compromise their values must fear being run out of business if they do not comply. You mean to tell me those seeking services can’t easily get similar services elsewhere?

Now here is the difference.  I am not saying to ban transgender people from bathrooms or homosexuals from buying goods. I am saying give people who prefer to not participate an opt out.  I think the anger is from being forced to accept something that is unacceptable to our core values.

It’s like the protesters’ protesting the election results.  They do not want to accept what is unacceptable to them.  There is nothing wrong with that and it’s their right.  However, the one-way street of “progressive” thinkers is what led to the backlash – with apologies to Van Jones.

Or maybe people simply got tired of an economy that never materially improved for the average family.  Slight increases on a macro-level are nice talking points but rarely uplift a family struggling to pay the bills.  When a president spends more time defending global warming than trying to protect this nation, half the nation will get upset.

Of course, we have the obvious reasons like Obamacare, stagnant wages, the president’s disdain for the Constitution, and the ungodly amounts of regulation that stifled commerce in the nation.

To be fair, there are 59 million people who wanted the continuation of current policies.  That is their right and they deserve a voice.

It’s only fair.  I may not agree with their views but that does not mean they are wrong or evil.  I do not want to impose my views on them much like I do not want them to impose their views on me.  Somewhere in the middle lies common sense and we can co-exist in that space.  We just need a strong leader that can get everyone to the table.  Unfortunately, we did not have a strong leader for the past eight years and, in my mind, that is what drove the Trump Train.

I am hoping President-elect Trump learns from the past that propelled his future.  I hope he listens and gives them a seat at the table.

About Armando Diana

A freelance writer for more than 25 years I covered the political scene in New Jersey which can prepare anyone for national politics. I have no fancy political degrees and I'm definitely not a lawyer - I am a common person who is fed up with politics. I want leaders focused on doing what is right for the country, not for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The past propels our future if we are willing to learn

  1. w1nt3l says:

    I agree that it seems like we’re in a comedy sketch fueled by mainstream and social media. There is so much misinformation being published its hard to know what is the truth and what is fabricated. While I did not vote for Trump, I *am* going to support him and do what I can to hold him to what he said he was going to do for this country. He has four years to convince me, and the American people, that he’s the right man for the job or it will be the voters to decide otherwise. I’ve chosen not to partake in the backlash of anger and hate because, at the end of the day, more people elected him President than didn’t and I have to believe (for my own sanity) that our country still functions as a free society. It certainly won’t be a boring ride the next four years.

  2. Thank you for participating. I wish more people were as level-headed as you.

Leave a Reply

