Having the choice is better for everyone but the unions

 

The public education world is ending if you listen to critics of newly minted Education Secretary Betsy DeVos.

Education unions are beside themselves with hyperbole and her critics are going as far as to claim her policies will “kill children.” That hysteria is from Vanity Fair film critic Richard Lawson who claims DeVos support of voucher programs will “create systems in which queer kids have literally zero access to support apparatus because they are in religious schools meaning voucher programs will lead to more suicides. Betsy DeVos’s policies will kill children.”

You can’t make this stuff up.

A few points. To begin with, voucher programs do not automatically mean a boon for religious schools or a death notice for homosexual children.  Just saying.  Sure religious schools will see increased enrollments but so will many private, non-religious schools.

And that’s a good thing.

Secondly, it’s about choice.  Parents can still choose to send their children to public schools so what is the issue?  However, if a voucher program ever gets through congress, parents can choose the right school for their children. Liberals love choice so why aren’t they supporting this type of choice?

The minute unions start to say it’s “about the children” you know they really mean “it’s about our paycheck.”  They are fooling no one.  If it was about the children, they would support any program that can potentially give children a better education.

Some of my teacher friend are threatening to move to Finland.  I’m sure they’ll leave just as quickly as all those Hollywood fools who swore they’d leave the nation if President Trump.  Unfortunately, they are still here.

Other friends are swearing they will home school their children.  Help me out here: how does a voucher program create the need for home schooling? My advice to them is to send their children to public school.  Choice is a beautiful thing.

I get the unions’ resistance – it’s their money. I do not understand some of the hysteria from parents.  I think it’s a knee jerk reaction to President Trump and not the merits of the person.

Based on what I saw of DeVos’ confirmation hearing, I was not impressed with her inability to answer questions directly. However, what I saw was through the prism of the mainstream media so I cannot trust it to be accurate. Reading the transcripts gives a different view of the hearing.

What I think most people missed in her responses because they were busy screaming about hypotheticals, is DeVos strongly supports local control of education and has pledged not to impose her own views on states and local school districts.  She prefers to allow school districts -along with parents – to make the decisions that best fit the needs of their children. She has also pledged to implement the laws of Congress.

What more can you ask?

If a public school is better than a charter or private school, it will get the enrolments.  I have never met a parent who actively wants their children to get a bad education.  If the education is good, students will come.

I do not know if she’ll be a good Education Secretary but I heard the same scare tactics when President Reagan chose William Bennett as his Education Secretary. Bennett’s stated goal was to abolish the department.  It didn’t happen.  In fact, the bureaucracy kept on giving.

I hope DeVos can get voucher programs implemented and establish more charter schools.  I think that will be a win for the children and choice. I suspect we’ll get the same result as other Education secretaries.  Nothing but the same old, tired public education system and that is not good for our children.  Parents need choice.

I must admit; I enjoy watching the unions squirm.

About Armando Diana

A freelance writer for more than 25 years I covered the political scene in New Jersey which can prepare anyone for national politics. I have no fancy political degrees and I'm definitely not a lawyer - I am a common person who is fed up with politics. I want leaders focused on doing what is right for the country, not for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Having the choice is better for everyone but the unions

  1. I have to admit that this is a refreshing point of view. Have to stop listening to the teacher friends I have, most of them are “I get the summer’s off” teachers and don’t give a damn about the children. The teachers I had when I was in school 20 years ago are NOT the same caliber of teachers that are in schools now. I already pay a large amount to the local school district through taxes and if vouchers are available, the public schools would have to show they’re worth my daughters future to send her there, otherwise its charter/private school.

    I’m an involved parent, I know the principal by first name and have seen her office more times than I did my entire school career 20 years ago. I’m “that” parent that teachers and administration dislike and more often than not, they’re placating me with PC answers that force me to persist until I get what I feel is the best for my daughter.

    Reserved optimism for DeVos at this point.

    • Thanks Andrew. How funny is this I just finished reading your re-post on the same subject matter. There is nothing wrong with being “that” parent – at least you are an involved parent. My wife is a substitute teacher in our school district and hearing some of the stories boggles my mind how many parents subjugate their responsibility of ensuring their children are getting a good education.

  2. MA in MO says:

    Let them go to Finland and try to obtain a teaching position. I am just guessing here, but my money is on the fact that only about 1 out 50 of American teachers could even get a teaching position in Finland. I am sure American teachers could eventually receive the training to obtain a teaching position but it would take at least two more years of schooling. They ain’t just going to walk in, put their resume on someone’s desk and then get hired. I would love to see America model their educational system along the lines that Finland uses.

    • Thanks for your comment. I find it funny whenever anyone threatens to leave the country if they cannot get their way for two reasons: 1. Do they think they are that integral to daily life in America that anyone will care? 2. The inability to cope with life is what happens when everyone gets a participation trophy.

Leave a Reply

